DAOs are a club and their 'provable' membership can be leveraged

I wrote a piece about DAOs and why I think that the idea that you can prove that you ‘belong’ is one of the most powerful aspects of a DAO, which is something I haven’t seen talked about much (this could simply be a result of being new to crypto). My background is philosophy and creative writing, not computer science or finance, so this is not a technical piece, but philosophy and psychology.

I don’t think I made any incorrect technical assumptions, but it’s entirely possible given my crypto-noob status.

We don’t really have a writing repository yet, but I figure that we will one day…a DAO blog of sorts. This would be better suited for that, but such is life.

• How does this resonates with you, the reader?
  • Is there a better place to post this?
  • Do I have it all wrong or am I on the right track?
  • Has this idea already been heavily discussed and ‘figured out’?
  • How can the idea of ‘wanting to belong’ be leveraged to make BanklessDAO and crypto better?

DAOs are a Club

DAOs are the ultimate, grown up version of a kid’s club. Think about it. When you were a kid, you and your buddies formed clubs. You had passwords and code names and secret knocks and all sorts of ways to prove that you were in the club. Like Vitalik talked about, you needed to be legit.
        But, here’s the rub: how did you prove that legitimacy? It was easy when things were good, when everyone was happy. But things got sticky when Timmy stole your favorite baseball card and told everyone that it was actually his and that you’d stolen it from him. This worked because Timmy was sort of a bully and because you were a bit shy and didn’t really want to confront him because he was bigger and had a habit of wiping his snotty boogers on people that annoyed him (not that he knew what that word meant).