Government relations panel

There are various policy and regulatory review processes occurring globally, that are examining crypto regulations.

It would be good to have a voice in these regulatory discussions to make sure crypto is properly understood and approached by regulators.

I’m a former policy analyst, consultant and academic with a phd in political science.

I’m interested in doing some government relations work and contributions to policy review processes. such as participating in stakeholder consultations, responding to issues papers and calls for submissions on proposed regulations.

My proposal is to begin to operate as a government relations manager on behalf of Bankless. This would involve convening a panel of interested members from the DAO as a steering committee/sounding board for this work.

A big risk to crypto is being over regulated in a way that is similar to a corporation.

I am interested in developing some advocacy based around the following points:

• web 3.0 economic relations better parallel conventional economic relations i.e. they enable property rights online. Web 2.0 is not built around property rights so extracts value behind the back of the consumer in manipulative ways.
  • web 3.0 is about setting up online economies and not corporations so it would be a mistake to regulate web 3.0 organisations like corporations. Tokens are not shares but rather incentivise behaviour on the platform and enable governance coordination but do not constitute ownership of web 3.0 platforms. People can own the resources they bring onto the platform but do not own the platform itself.